Smiling my face off on a dreary day

So I had entered 3 pieces of work into a Salon show at South Shore Arts here in Indiana. I had been told it was not easy to get work into and I was a little reluctant to try it. I really hit a low point in my career when I didn’t get a grant I applied for. Of course that was my first grant application AND to be honest I had been drawing and painting here and there but nothing too serious. Now that I got that rejection I have been working my butt off!

I entered 3 pieces into this show. One was the Ozymandias Breaking Bad, Portrait of Walter White Box. However it did not make it in. I saw my paper that said rejected and my heart fell.

for the Portrait show at Studio 659
Ozymandias a portrait of Walter White

I entered a piece similar to this, but it did not have the bubbles and it also did not get in. The word REJECTED seemed to shine off of the paper.
2

THEN LAST BUT NOT LEAST…. ACCEPTED!!! I almost fell over and had to look at it again to make sure it wasn’t a lie. This was actually the last piece I thought would make it. One of the X-Professors from the American Academy of Art in Chicago helped me pick out the pieces. I like this piece but felt it might piss people off. It is American Love Story from a show called Bad Business that I did earlier in the year. I did a blog post about it here.

bow

I didn’t know how exclusive of a show this really was as I had 2 other friends get in. I am not saying that they are not amazing, it is just that I didn’t really understand the extent. I did meet a few people lately that seemed a little sore that they did not get in. They had really nice work too… everything depends on what the Juror is looking for.

I dropped off my stuff today and found that the gallery was already exploding with amazing pieces of art!! I really feel fortunate to be among them as I look around. Honestly I feel like I might have just been the last one they accepted and maybe my piece was just 10% better than someone else’s work.  Should you be someone that reads my blog you might notice I am not an artist with a HUGE ego that fills a museum. I am really humble and wonder if my work is as good as anyone elses. I even get excited every time I sell a piece and do a happy dance. My stuff is priced to move though and can range from $30.00 – $500.00.

I talked to the curator today and she said that out of over 300 entries only 65 got in. Only 15 will get awards and I do not count on winning any money but I am still glad to be counted to be in this show.

Leave a Reply

