Relating an Abstract to Actual Figure

I have spent my time off of work in deep contemplation about my life and my art and the direction I want to go. Now that I am feeling much better I have been trying to spend more time on the computer because it seems to be the last roadblock.  I start to feel ill after looking at the screen for too long, so this is why I do not post all the time. That little life bit being said…

10292277_10152408709344321_7299994491682587602_nThe Sounds of Color

I am searching out the feelings that abstraction brings out. For me there has been so much focus on line and color. How does the paint move me and what feeling does it invoke?

While working on art I like to typically listen to music. I feel there is definitely a soundtrack to my work (life too). I worked in silence on this piece. I focused on the actual sound that the paintbrush makes when you shake the brush off in water in a glass. There is a sound the paintbrush makes when you drag it across the paper and even when you mix your paint. I found it to be so relaxing and I feel as if I was really in tune with the work.

Abstract to Solid Imagery

There are plenty of artists that work from real imagery and then produce the abstraction. When you look at a real tree and then an abstract artist rendering of the same tree, there are relations to look at.

In my work and exploration I paint the abstract  first. There is a color palette that forms and awakens ideas for further interpretation. I also  become interested in the shapes that the free fluid movements produce. There is a story that needs to have form.

2Using the image above I felt this was one of the stories to come to life.  The color combinations came together like fire and ice. The feminine shapes created circular and flowing lines.

I showed these images to another artist that shows his work in large venues and he felt that the pieces needed to be painted MUCH larger than contained in my sketchbook. They should be shown side by side and he said that much of my work is the same way.

 

 

Leave a Reply

