Bringing Corruption ~ Inspired by Take a Bow from Muse

So there was a call for art recently by an art group in my area. It is for a show called ‘Bad Business: An anti-corporate art show’ and frankly to be quite honest, as much as I wanted to contribute I thought there was no way I could really design something that would fit in. I really dislike politics and do not really follow everything horrible that every company known to man does. If I did I would imagine that I would need to make my own cloth, sew my own clothes, raise my own chickens and grow my own veggies as well as create a bio-diesel vehicle and live in a self sustaining house. I’m too lazy I guess!

bowI ended up listening to one of my favorite songs by Muse called Take a Bow. The complete lyrics, like my other music based art pieces I have blogged about are at the bottom of the page.

For this piece I really wanted to organize images of issues that I understand at the moment. the lyrics that stood out for me were

Corrupt, you corrupt
And bring corruption to all that you touch
And cast a spell on the country you run
You will risk all their lives and their souls

This makes me think of Obama, not so much what I feel for him but from all the opinions I hear all over the internet and in daily life. Especially when it comes to Obamacare. So the left figure I drew one of my Dragons with a forked tongue. There is a saying that a forked tongue is meant to mislead or deceive. I think some people feel lied to, not even necessarily by Obama himself but the American government in general. I attached the Obama symbol on the Dragon’s neck by a chain. I didn’t think much about it other than the fact I needed it to hang off of something. I was told by someone viewing it that it could represent the race of the President. Everyone is going to read into this what they feel and I think that it is very interesting!

The next words that I looked at that inspired me were

What we’ve become
Is contrary to what we want
You must pay for your crimes against the earth

On the right there is a skeletal creature and growing on him is the Monsanto DNA logo and on the Bottom, some BP gallons/spill as well as an oil drill on the left hand side. These are very relevant signs of our time. So many things going on today. I have the Obama Dragon and Monsanto (skeleton/death) figure almost in love and the gallons of oil almost as babies. I know that it is strange but I feel it works. I know many people think that even though these companies and entities are separate that ultimately they are in bed together and all of it ties in to control over we the people. There are a ton of conspiracy theorists out there!

So I don’t know how I can do a piece without a strong feeling, and I do have them but there is the fear at times of angering others. I honestly didn’t post this image on Facebook as I didn’t want to make people mad. Now I really feel like I should, just to get people’s thoughts. Even if my art makes someone angry I am still making them FEEL something right? Political type pieces will never make people happy but I guess it will make them think.

Take a Bow: Song by Muse
Black Holes and Revelations: Album
(c) 2006
If you have never heard this song or this band you should check them out!

Corrupt, you corrupt
And bring corruption to all that you touch
Hold, you’ll behold
And behold and for all that you’ve done

And spell, cast a spell
And cast a spell on the country you run
And risk, you will risk
You will risk all their lives and their souls

And burn, you will burn
You will burn in Hell, yeah, you’ll burn in Hell
You’ll burn in Hell, yeah, you’ll burn in Hell
For your sins

Ooh, our freedom is consuming itself
What we’ve become
Is contrary to what we want
Take a bow

Death, you bring death
And destruction to all that you touch
Pay, you must pay
You must pay for your crimes against the earth

And Hex, feed the Hex
Feed the Hex on the country you love
And beg, you will beg
You will beg for their lives and their souls

Yeah, burn, you will burn
You will burn in Hell, yeah, you’ll burn in Hell
Burn in Hell, yeah, you’ll burn in Hell
Burn in Hell, yeah, you’ll burn in Hell
For your sins

 

Leave a Reply

