Are you a Hypnotist?- Inspired by The Flaming Lips

waving your powers around... final image
waving your powers around… final image

I am doing a music series of songs that give me great emotion. This song is called “Are you a Hypnotist?” and it is from a band called The Flaming Lips. One of their most popular songs are “Do you Realize?” or at least that is what I have been told by people that only know that one song.

I decided to have a bit of a Buddhist inspiration for this piece (very slight). Religion and faith in general are themes I really enjoy. All religions have rich history, and while I consider myself to be Christian I do not have my head in the sand. I have friends of all faiths and I respect their personal decision and I enjoy learning about them.

Buddhist imagery is really beautiful so I incorporated a lotus flower in the image at the bottom. Lotus flowers have several meanings.

In a relationship, it is normally used to mean being totally in love with someone and being forgetful of all that has happened in the past between you. It is also used in Asian religions especially in India to represent awakening to the spiritual reality of life.

 

I feel it represents the song. The lyrics of this song are…

I had forgiven you for tricking me again
But I have been tricked again –
Into forgiving you –
What is this?? Are you some kind of hypnotist??
Waving your powers around – the sun eclipse behind the cloud…

I thought I recognized your face
Amongst all of those strangers –
But I am the stranger now
Amongst all of the recognized
What is this?? Are you some kind of hypnotist??
Waving your powers around – the sun eclipse behind the cloud

I feel the song represents a relationship in the sense that the relationship on one end might not have been truthful or valid. The main character in the song is forgiving and longs for his/her love to be true. He/she thought that he really knew this person but they are good at hiding their true self. Honestly it happens in relationships, when they start everything is beautiful and everyone puts on their best ‘face’. People’s true colors do show themselves after time.

I love the swirly design of my clouds because I feel it almost represents the power waving around. The color burst in the background is the sun being eclipsed. Our main character is off to the side and his love is in the crowd surrounded by 5 other ‘people’.

I thought I recognized your face Amongst all of those strangers- Starting outlines
I thought I recognized your face
Amongst all of those strangers- Starting outlines

Pencil drawings are important to me, and I usually start my idea with a really primitive sketch on a scrap of paper. It gives me a plan on how to fill the space. After my plan I flesh out the basic outlines in pencil and then draw my dark outlines.

Next I add texture to the images, background and later maybe some hint of color.

Are you some kind of hypnotist? Outlines
Are you some kind of hypnotist? Outlines

 

 

Leave a Reply

