Ozymandias ~ A Portrait of Walter White

Getting ready for a Breaking Bad mixed media piece
Getting ready for a Breaking Bad mixed media piece

 ‘My name is Ozymandias, king of kings: look on my works, ye mighty, and despair!’ Nothing beside remains. Round the decay of that colossal wreck, boundless and bare, the lone and level sands stretch far away.  ~ Percy Bysshe Shelley

Studio 659 in Whiting, Indiana is calling for Portrait work for their upcoming show. I was not certain if I was going to participate but I have wanted to do a Breaking Bad piece of fan art for some time.
It only seems proper to do a portrait of Walter White/Heisenberg the anti-hero of the show.  I am not sure what I will call the finished piece but I am leaning towards “Ozmandias” which I thought was one of the most amazing episodes of the series. Favorites aside it might be called something else later on but for now I will call it that.

I didn’t just want to do a painting so I decided I would work in the media I think I do really well. I am going to build a box and do a mixed media/collage piece. I hope it fits the submission requirements because I am just getting tired of the constraints of the traditional framed, matted and wired work. Granted I LOVE doing that but I need a break from the norm.

This is only step one of the process and I felt it was important to actually start with the portrait. I used watercolor and wanted to give it a sloppy look so I used paint dribbles and bubbles. There… I said it… I used bubbles. Yes, bubbles. I blew bubbles on the picture with a bubble wand and let them sit on the image for a little while and them wiped them off. This process is hit or miss because sometimes you end up with a great texture and other times the bubbles do not do what you want them to and go everywhere but your painting.

I used greens because of the title splash of the show, which appears below. It is a little grungier looking but I need my image to be a little lighter to show better.

Title sequence splash of the show Breaking Bad on AMC
Title sequence splash of the show Breaking Bad on AMC

I did the watercolor over the past few days and most of the ink work today. I have been home from my full time job due to a concussion and I am finally starting to feel a little more normal again.  I still get nausea and some dizziness. I stressed out earlier today and ended up with a headache. Painting and drawing really helps me relax.

I decided to sign up for a blog because I haven’t done that for some time and I feel it is important to share my creative thought process for those that want to know where I am coming from. I decided to start typing today because though I am feeling more normal I have not really been able to look at a computer screen for more than 15 minutes without feeling crazy. I know I will have to go back to work soon so if they send me back before I am over this ‘bump in the road’ I have to learn to deal with it.  I am taking this injury as a good experience because I did a lot of self reflection during my time off.

When life gives you lemons, don’t make lemonade. Make life.

Leave a Reply

