Ozymandias ~ Working during dry time

Leaves of Grass Quote gets Walt busted in the end. Is it Karma for having Jesse kill Gale?
Leaves of Grass Quote gets Walt busted in the end. Is it Karma for having Jesse kill Gale?

While the other side of my box is drying and the glue is curing, I am working on this other side here. I bought a copy of Leaves of Grass and then found the prop online and printed out the same page so that I could copy Gale’s handwriting properly.

I felt that in this box it was important to include this because it was ultimately the undoing of Walter White. He kept this book after he had Jesse kill Gale and stuck it on the back of his toilet for bathroom reading. His D.E.A. agent Brother-in-law, Hank, just ended up needing something to read and found this inscription.

Hank compared the writing in Gale's notebook to the inscription on Walt's copy of Leaves of Grass.
Hank compared the writing in Gale’s notebook to the inscription on Walt’s copy of Leaves of Grass.

He had a copy of Gale’s notebook and ripped out that page and compared the writing. After that, of course many BAD things happen because he knows that his Cancer ridden seemingly good Brother-in-Law Walt is actually a MAJOR player in the production of Meth. He IS Heisenberg!

I felt it was really important to also include part of Gale’s Notebook where Hank actually did the comparison.

Major plot point turn! I bet Walt Whitman never thought his book would be used like that! I haven’t bothered to really research it but I wonder how many people went out and bought a copy of Leaves of Grass after this show aired?

This 'moth' is on the image on the infamous barrel of Methylamine
This ‘moth’ is on the image on the infamous barrel of Methylamine

The next design element was a pain in the butt, however the finished product was worth it. I cut out the Methylamine Moth out of cardboard and then covered it in the same metal that I did on the outside and inside of the box. The only difference is that I also used Yellow paint instead of leaving the design element a plain metal. I really wanted it to stand out.

This is pretty important because the guys used this chemical to circumvent their need to buy pseudoephedrine.

My deadline for this box is here and it makes me a little irritated. I wanted to get a cigarette to symbolize ricin, a packet of Stevia, and wanted to work on a few other things but I do not have enough time. With the way I set this box up, these elements can be put in later. Besides, I want to find the perfect packet of Stevia that looks like the same one from the series!

I cannot believe that I am finished with this side of the box now too! I used cork board to attach Gale’s Notebook page to as well as the page from LeaveIMG_2900s of Grass. There are also parts of the periodic table of elements on this box. I am happy with the finished product but being an artist I will still struggle with visualizing the other elements I wanted to put in here!

 

Leave a Reply

